Program Details


quick links on this page
Requirements | Recognition | Documents

The Greater Triangle Stewardship Development Awards Program began in 2010 to honor Triangle-area residential, commercial and public land developments that demonstrate outstanding environmental stewardship through protection, conservation, improvement, and appreciation of our natural resources. The program was inspired by the Lower Cape Fear Stewardship Development Awards Program, which was founded in 2005 to recognize outstanding projects in three counties along the North Carolina coast. The Lower Cape Fear program is now well established and has awarded recognition to a wide variety of projects. The Program became the Greater Triangle Stewardship Development Association (GTSDA), a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, in 2014.

counties_overviewThe GTSDA was formed by a diverse group of professionals who share the common goal of encouraging developers to exercise environmental stewardship when designing and constructing their projects. The intent of the program is to provide public recognition that will serve as an incentive for developers to increase the sustainability of their projects. Awards of recognition from the GTSDA are given on a non-competitive basis and may be awarded to no development projects or several projects in a given year, depending on how many are judged to exceed the applicable criteria.

Five levels of recognition have been defined for the Awards Program. Applicants must submit a completed application form, which will be reviewed by an independent Judging Panel comprised of recognized experts in fields that are appropriate to the selection criteria.  Click here for additional information on the application evaluation process.



In order to be eligible, projects must meet the following requirements:

  1. Project is located Alamance, Chatham, Durham, Franklin, Granville, Johnston, Orange, or Wake Counties
  2. Project complies with all applicable local, state, and federal regulations, unless it is a Concept Plan (eligible only for a Concept Recognition)
  3. Participating Developers/Owners conduct visits to site by the Judging Panel, Governing Council, and Program affiliates and provide additional information as requested
  4. Periodic evaluation of the project is authorized in perpetuity
  5. The applicant(s) has not made a monetary contribution to the GTSDA Program for the current awards cycle, which is concluded with the Annual Awards Banquet

Applications will be judged on the overall creativity, design and environmental impacts of projects.  Click here for more information on the criteria.

back to top



For information on how to apply for the coming awards cycle, please visit our Applications Page.

Stewardship Development honorees receive promotion through:

  1. Acceptance into awards program
  2. Exposure through releases and related literature
  3. Awards banquet
  4. Display of approved Stewardship Development signage on site (Gold Stewardship status only)*
  5. Display of bamboo award plaque (all awardees)
  6. Use of Stewardship Development logo in promotional materials for the site or project (Gold Stewardship status only)*

*Silver Stewardship, Honorable Mention, and Development Design recognition awardees can only use their specific designation in marketing text (use of the Stewardship Development logo is not permitted).

Any reference to receipt of the Stewardship Honorable Mention, Development Design Recognition, or Concept Recognition must be clearly limited to the specific elements receiving recognition.

back to top